Pro Bono Massage

Neenee

Reaction score
Wondering if this is the key to developing new clientelle. Up till now that's all I have been doing to get new clientelle but if I didn't have a second business unrelated to massage I don't see how anyone can make money at this. People here in FL seem to scoff at paying $40 or $50 for an hour massage and after getting certified for being a Neuromuscular Therapist I was expecting to be making upwards of $80 - $120 / hr and I can't even get people running specials of 1/2 off $20 an hour.

I know the instructors said this isn't a get rich quick kind of career or even a career that's easy to start, but they did say things should start rolling after 2 years. Well I have had to renew my license already and it's not getting easier.

Looks like relocating to a better area might be my next plan if things don't pick up before the next renewal period. Pretty bad if I make less per renewal period to even cover the expense of the license renewal...

Fusion1,
Welcome to MassagePlanet. We're glad to have you on the boards with us.
I'm sort of at a loss, am I reading it correctly? You're offering half off of $20/ hour? In other words a $10/hr massage? Are you sure there's not a typo in that part of your post?
What area of Florida are you practicing in... that might make a difference.
Some bigger cities like Orlando or Miami might support higher fees that little towns in more "rural" areas of the state. How long have you been practicing? What sort of location do you work from? There are many factors which might affect your business.
I know prices range in Wisconsin from probably $45-$130/hr for swedish massage depending on where you are receiving it. In my area of the state, it tends to range from $45-$60.
We actually have several MTs from Florida on the board and I hope that they may be able to provide more "insight" for you. I'm sure their knowledge is better than my information... as I haven't lived in FL since I was a child.